10 Hair Tools You Need

I’m going to share with you my top 10 hair “things” I can’t go without!

1. Fine Toothed Comb

These are SO handy when it comes to teasing, parting, or smoothing. I like the ones with the metal ends best, but plastic is also good. You might even (like me) want or have both. Just be careful with the metal ends, because they’re a little bit sharp! As long as you’re taking your time when you use it, you’ll be just fine. πŸ™‚

 

2. Spin Pins

Wow, once I heard of these things, they changed my life! They are WAY better than bobby pins, and are a lot more comfortable! They spin in quickly, and are easy to remove. They’re also wonderful for my very thick hair, so I don’t have to use a hundred pins. They are best for holding lots of hair, such as a bun, in place. If you don’t have some, you need to get them!

 

3. Bobby Pins

Now, before I downplay these little guys too much, I have to say, they’re wonderful, too! These are best for holding medium to small sized pieces of hair in place, as well as accent braids. These also hold tails that stick out down, where spin pins can’t! They’re also more versatile than spin pins, so if you had to pick one, go with bobby pins.

 

4. Β Clear Elastics

These things have been just wonderful! They’re small and clear, fantastic for updos. I use them all the time. Hair-colored ones are just too big to hide, so clear is the way to go.

 

5.Β Hair Colored Elastics

The hair colored elastics are good for different reasons than the clear ones. For instance, a clear elastic would never hold up a messy bun, but a regular elastic would, and, if it’s hair colored, chances are you won’t even see the elastic. Perfect!

 

6. Paddle Brush

Captain Obvious here: you need a brush. I have had many, many brushes that just don’t work very well. Of course, everyone has a different taste, but in my opinion, a big paddle brush is the best to brush out tangles in a short amount of time. I’ve had mine for a few years, and it still works wonderfully. You can use a regular brush, but my advice is to get a paddle brush.

 

7. Mirror

No, not the regular mirror, a hand-held one. I use them a lot, because they’re great for seeing the back of my head. I always turn backwards to my big mirror, and hold the small one up so I can see the reflection of my reflection of the back of my head.

 

8. Donut Bun/Bun Maker

This goes by at least two names. (Listed above.) But I call it a bun maker. This thing has been so fun and wonderful! I’ve done a number of different hairstyles with it. You can make them out of socks, but I think I prefer the mesh kind you can buy in the store.

 

9. Curling Iron

Okay, okay, so maybe I don’tΒ need this one, but it’s so much fun to use! A variety of sizes is good for different looks. I got mine from amazon here:

http://www.amazon.com/xtava-Satin-Wave-Curler-Interchangeable/dp/B00RFY3C2C/ref=sr_1_1_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1459869715&sr=8-1&keywords=5-in-1+curling+iron

It’s a long link, I know. My apologies, but I can’t help it! It comes with a glove (not pictured in the link).

 

10. Wide-toothed Comb

Last thing: the wide-toothed comb. This is fantastic for detangling wet hair, because it won’t stretch the hair. They’re also good for making a rough part, quick combing, and for taking in the shower so you can comb your hair before you dry it with a towel.

 

 

Do you have a favorite hair tool you can’t go without? I’d like to hear what it is!

And be sure to leave me a comment! I love them. πŸ™‚

 

~Amara

7 thoughts on “10 Hair Tools You Need

  1. Do you have a favorite hair tool you can’t go without? I’d like to hear what it is!

    The flexi-clip, of course! πŸ˜€ http://www.lillarose.biz/feminineglory

    Oh, and several months ago, before we knew that our moms knew each other, I brought up flexi-clips to you, and you said you already used them. Then I suggested, “Why don’t you buy them from my mom?” And you said that your mom already bought some from one of her friends. Is that friend my mom?

    Sorry if that’s confusing. πŸ˜›

    Also I like the little claw clips (I sort of like the big ones too, but don’t tell my mom, because she sells flexis! πŸ˜› jk)

    I like the regular hair bands, the elastic with fabric over it ones. Especially the thinner kind — they’re a lot easier to use.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yeah, didn’t think of flexis! Those are great, though my hair is too short to use them! πŸ˜›
      Actually, it was a different friend that we buy ours from. I don’t think I knew your mom sold them before buying from another friend. That would have been cool, though!

      Yes, claw clips are so handy! What do you use yours for the most? πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • Your hair is probably long enough to do a half-up with them… maybe even a ponytail! I’ve seen women with hair shorter than my mom’s use them!

        Well, we don’t really have any of the big ones because Mom sells Lilla Rose and she doesn’t like them. But I mostly use the small ones for little half-ups or just holding something in place for a while if I’m doing a complicated hairstyle.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, my hair is! I hadn’t thought about that for a while…I’ve been rather busy.
        But I’ll get back to using them!

        The big ones are very handy (at least for my hair), and if you can get some you should! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, we had some before my mom started selling Lilla Rose, and I liked them.

        But now if I asked her to get me some, she would freak out and probably have a heart attack. πŸ˜› jk

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

