Olive Oil for Faster Hair Growth?

I recently was looking up how I can grow my hair faster and almost everything I read said to use warm olive oil and massage it into your hair, and it will grow 2-4 inches in one week. I’m not the sort of person who believes everything they read, so I decided to try it out for myself.

 

Note: Try to time this week-long experiment for a week you won’t be going many places. You might not get all the oil to wash out at first!

 

Step 1.

Heat up your olive oil. I don’t use a pan on the stove to heat it (although you could), but I fill up a sink with warm-to-hot water and put my small jar in that for a few minutes.

 

Step 2.

Pour out a small-ish amount (about the size of a quarter) of the warm (not hot) olive oil on your hand then rub them both together. Begin working the oil through the scalp area (you don’t need it on your ends), until your whole head is greasy. Use more oil if you need to.

 

Step 3.

Now flip your head upside down for 4-5 minutes and massage, going in a circular motion the whole time. Once the time is up, slowly flip your head back to normal position. If you start feeling dizzy before the time is up, you either need to stop altogether, or slow down how fast you’re massaging. You want your massage to be relaxing…not stressful.

 

Step 4.

Now leave the olive oil in for about 1-2 hours. Of course, you don’t want greasy hair getting on your clothes, so I do a dutch braid down the back of my head and then clip the ends up. If you have long hair, I would suggest doing it in a bun.

 

Step 5.

Once the 1-2 hours is up, wash the oil out! This might take a while, but take your time. You don’t want greasy hair after you’ve tried to wash it. Condition the ends with conditioner.

This is for the brave ones–not the faint of heart. As you rinse out the conditioner, turn the water colder, colder, colder, and colder until you almost can’t stand the freezing water.

Then turn the water off, and towel dry your hair.

 

And remember, be gentle with your hair! I once read: “treat your hair as if it was spun from gold.” That’s good advice!

Do this every day for one week. 

Now, the moment of truth: did my hair grow 2-4 inches in one week?

Survey says: NO! YES! Well, sort of. It didn’t grow 2-4 inches. But surprisingly, it grew 1/2″! Now that is fast for only one week. 😀

Usually hair only grows 1/2″ in one month.

Remember, only do this once a month. It isn’t good for your head to be upside down all the time! 🙂

But don’t just take my word for it. Give it a try yourself!

And be sure to leave a comment telling me if it worked for you or not!

 

~Amara

12 thoughts on “Olive Oil for Faster Hair Growth?

  1. Well, Hannah, it really doesn’t take very long to wash out….though I understand what your mom is saying. That’s what I thought too. You don’t have to wait for your hair to get totally wet before you start to shampoo. As you’re shampooing, it’ll be wet enough. As long as you wash it a few times, it doesn’t take too long. 🙂

    As far as growing from the inside out, that’s true. But it’s the upside down massage that really makes it work. It makes the blood circulate to your head, making the dermal papilla produce faster. So you wouldn’t HAVE to use the oil…that just helps it to be really easy to massage. And believe me, I was skeptical at first about the whole thing, too. 😀

    Even if it doesn’t work…it certainly wouldn’t hurt your hair! In fact, I would probably help heal any damaged hair you might have.

    Like

    • Oh hmmm… thanks! I won’t use the oil, but I will try the upside-down massage. I’ll let you know if it works!

      And BTW… how do you measure your hair? A ruler is straight, and a tape measure don’t bend very well either… or do you just measure from the top of your head to the end?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Great! I’m looking forward to it!

        I have my Mom measure my hair from the back of my part (which goes to the back of my head) down to the ends with a cloth tape measure. So basically the hair that naturally falls straight down. Does that make sense? I could show you a picture if you wanted. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool! I’ve been looking forever for ways to make my hair grow faster, and none of them worked… hopefully this does (if Mom lets me try it)! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

