Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel

I’ve reviewed the first Anne movie, so I should review the second one as well. You can read the review I did for the first movie here.

Here is the official synopsis of the sequel:

“After the wedding of her best friend, Diana Barry, and a proposal from Gilbert, Anne decides to leave Avonlea to accept a teaching post at Kingsport Ladies College. In order to succeed, Anne must win over the icy Katherine Brooke and endure tormenting from the snobby Pringle family.

But Anne finds a kindred spirit in Emmeline Harris, who is being raised by her cranky grandmother, Margaret Harris, and wants nothing more than to be loved by her absent father, Morgan Harris. Anne and Emmeline become fast friends, and Anne quickly forces her way into the Harris family and ultimately changes their lives.

However, after a chance encounter with Gilbert, Anne begins to re-evaluate what is important to her. A surprise question from Morgan Harris makes Anne realize how much she misses home. Upon her return to Avonlea, she learns news about Gilbert and must decide how much he truly means to her.”

(You can find the trailer and order the movie from this link.)

250px-Anne_sequel

That sums it up pretty well, and I don’t have much to add, as far the synopsis goes. Now, the fun part – will give my thoughts about it.

First off, I have to say that it doesn’t exactly follow the books. It’s pretty close, but not as close as the first movie was to the first book. This film is a mash-up of Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, and Anne of Windy Poplars. Some names of supporting characters were changed. For example, Morgan Harris (from the movie) is loosely based off of the fellow Roy Gardener (from the book). In the book there Roy Gardener (a.k.a., Morgan Harris) who does not have a daughter, but is someone Anne meets at college (not teaching at one.)

Those are minor, however, and don’t detract much from the story. Some people I’ve heard would argue that Morgan Harris is better than Roy Gardener, but that, my readers, is up to you to decide.

But in the books, there is a Katherine Brooke, a Pringle clan, Diana does get married, Gilbert does propose to Anne, and Rachel does live with Marilla.

Okay, okay. All that aside, I’ll go ahead and just review the movie, now that you know all that background stuff. 😉

I loved the first movie, and I also loved its sequel. I was so happy that they kept all the actors and actresses the same for all the characters. It would have wrecked the whole thing if they changed anyone. 😀 They all did a fantastic job, and the storyline was great.

Why do I like it? I’ll give a short run-down for you.

  1. I like that they kept the characters’ personalities the same. They all seemed very believable.
  2. It’s just plain fun! There are so many laughable parts in it. I like that. (The mud comes quickly to mind. Haha!)
  3. It’s sad! Yes, while there are a lot of funny parts, they’re balanced well with more sober and touching scenes. My heart nearly jumped in my throat near the end.
  4. I also like Anne’s ability to make everyone like her, even the rather grumpy Mrs. Harris.
  5. And last, but not least, it has some romance! Not so much that it’s “mushy” as I call it. I hate that. But also not so little that it’s thrown in because they didn’t know what else to do with it. I hate that, too. It’s just right – not too much, not too little. At least, to my taste… 🙂

And, as always, the music was wondeful! You can order the CD from amazon here. (The official “Anne” website does not sell it.)

Do I recommend “Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel”? Yes!

www.anneofgreengables.com

 

The Cast

Megan Follows as Anne Shirley

anne_writing_web

 

Jonathan Crombie as Gilbert Blythe

0927-gilbert

 

Frank Converse as Morgan Harris

Picture 9

 

Rosemary Dunsmore as Katherine Brooke

Katherinebrook

 

Colleen Dewhurst as Marilla Cuthbert

Marilla_cuthbert

 

Schuyler Grant as Diana Barry (Wright)

l089

 

What about a review for the third movie? 😉

♥Amara

Note: This post is not sponsored or endorsed by Sullivan Entertainment, and the pictures I am not selling, making a profit from, or benefiting from these in any way, shape, or form. All copyrights remain with the respective owner(s). These photos are included only for the sole purpose of the enjoyment of the reader.

 

Leave a Reply

