Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story

Calling all “Anne-Fans”! I have a review of the third movie: Anne of Green Gables: the Continuing Story. (I won’t review the fourth one – that one I can’t even call an Anne movie because it has different actors!) So this is the last of the Anne movie reviews.

You can find the trailer and buy the movie here.

008

Official Synopsis:

“Now in her twenties, Anne (Megan Follows) returns to Avonlea for the first time since Marilla Cuthbert’s death. Gilbert (Jonathan Crombie) has been offered a position in a hospital in New York, and he persuades Anne to come with him. He arranges a position for her at a large publishing house.

However, big city life isn’t what they expected, especially when Anne’s manuscript is stolen by a dashing American writer, Jack Garrison (Cameron Daddo). After many unsuccessful months, Anne and Gilbert move back to Avonlea and into the middle of wartime society. Gilbert feels pressure to join the army as a medical officer, and is soon listed as missing in action. The indomitable Anne then sets off to the battlefields of Europe in search of Gilbert, and helps a young French woman and her son who are in the line of danger along the way.

Thus the stage is set for a final installment. The thrilling and affecting story follows the characters from New York, to Europe and the war effort, eventually returning them to the red earth of Prince Edward Island.”

 

 

My thoughts:

Well, hmmm… it was an interesting enough story, but… well… it didn’t follow the books! (Which were, by the way, FANTASTIC! You OUGHT to read them! Plus, I’d be more than happy to review those for you!)

Many scenes I felt sick to the stomach — not because it was terrible to watch, but because I ached alongside the characters and it was so intense. It was difficult to see the beloved Anne and Gilbert put into such a new story as this one — since, like I said, it didn’t follow the books at all. Some of the time they seemed to remain pretty true to character, but sometimes not. Now, before I tear it to shreds (which is not what I’m out to do), I will say that it was a very good mystery story.

A lot of the movie was more about the cost of war — dead and wounded men — than the fighting itself. That was also hard.

So, I need to rate it, don’t I…  beside it not following the books, I’d probably put it at 3 out of 5 stars. I’m glad I watched it, but I have no need to watch it again soon. Maybe 15 years from now… 🙂

The cast did a wonderful job, and I also enjoyed the music from this one as well! I was a little worried, because they had a different composer – but turns out, he did very well, too! You can listen to samples or buy the CD collection here.

The Cast

Megan Follows as Anne Shirley/Blythe

Anne in third movie

Jonathan Crombie as Gilbert Blythe

Wedding Gil

Cameron Daddo as Jack Garrison

2000AnneGilJackcropped

Schuyler Grant as Diana Wright

Diana

Greg Spottiswood as Fred Wright

Fred3

♥Amara

Note: This post is not sponsored or endorsed by Sullivan Entertainment, and the pictures I am not selling, copying, making a profit from, or benefiting from these in any way, shape, or form. All copyrights remain with the respective owner(s). These photos are included only for the sole purpose of the enjoyment of the reader.

2 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story

  1. This movie was alright. The mystery was mysterious and the human cost of war was brought home in a poignant (not graphic) way. Some of the scenes (evacuation of Canadian medical camp and wounded boarding ship for London) are visually lavish. I take issue with their history as the French (apparently) enjoy shooting nuns but have no fighting prowess, the British are incompetent, and World War I is only won because of a crooked American journalist with a big ego. One of my favorite parts is the Zeppelin raid in London, where the Londoners in the hotel show a stiff upper lip as their hotel is being bombed.

    ~Jordan

    Like

Leave a Reply

