“Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm” Book Review

I haven’t done a book review for a while, and, since I just finished reading this book for the first time, I thought I’d review it.

I was complaining -er- tactfully observing that I needed a new book to read – one that no one else in my family had read. So my mom found me this one. It was great.

The book follows Rebecca from about age 8 or 9 to 17. She is sent by her widowed mother to live her two austere aunts – Miranda and Jane Sawyer – to be “brought up.” With seven children living at Sunnybrook Farm, Rebecca’s mother felt overwhelmed. So Rebecca arrives at the “brick house” to grow up under her aunts’ instruction. In the years that follow Rebecca goes to school and is taught by her aunts housekeeping skills. She loves to write poetry and stories, guided by her beloved teacher, Miss Maxwell. Everyone (admittedly or not) loves the girl, Rebecca Randall.

I very much enjoyed this book; it was fun and light-hearted, an easy read, but also had a good story. From Mr. Cobb, the coachman, to Rebecca herself, character development was done very well. The story was nicely methodical, not jumping from one topic to another randomly, but it also wasn’t a boringly cut-in-stone chronology. It was also nice that Rebecca wasn’t of the fainting, crying, sickly sort.

Plus, I liked it because it was set during 1880-90 ish, about the same time as “Anne of Green Gables.” I like that time period.

Would I reccomend this book? Yes!

I was recently looking for a sequel (wanting more about Rebecca!) and came across one written by – oh, wait a minute – nope! Not even going there. “Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm” was written by Kate Douglas Wiggin. The so-called “sequel” was written by someone else; though it said that Kate Douglas Wiggin “helped” with the writing, the story wasn’t her idea. I guess that’s one more thing about me: I CAN’T STAND OTHER PEOPLE TRYING TO WRITE A SEQUEL TO SOMEONE ELSE’S BOOK!

Thanks for reading!! 😀

♥Amara

Leave a Reply

