Roman Hair

I’m going to do some ancient roman hair today! I’ve done three different roman hairstyles that you could dress up or down, or even wear them every day. The three hairstyles range from easy, medium, or hard difficulty levels – just remember, don’t feel intimidated to try the hard one – practice makes perfect! Ready to get started? Okay, let’s go!

1. Easy – Classic Roman Bun

IMG_0462

 

 

2. Medium – Roman Braid Combo

IMG_0495

 

 

3. Hard – Roman Braid Updo

IMG_0510

 

 

All of these are either based off of sculptures or old sketches – but you can get really creative. As far as accessories, you saw in my tutorials that I used mostly pearls, which were used back then (and it’s what I had on hand) but you can do a million different things. Here are just a few to get you started:

Crowns

Wreaths

Flowers

Ribbons

Gold Dust (you can find spray-on gold specifically for hair)

Jewels and Pearls

Fancy hair sticks were used to secure many updos, but for modern convenience, I used hidden bobby pins, then decorated my hair separately.

How many or how much of each of these things you wore seemed to have a great deal to do with where you were going or how wealthy you were. Have fun!

♥Amara

2 thoughts on “Roman Hair

  1. Thanks for posting this Amara! For the play I asked you to do this for, I think I’m gonna basically do the second one as long as the hair chair likes it :). (Basically meaning it’ll be the same idea, but I barely ever follow directions exactly for hairstyles. I like to take the hairstyles and make them my own :)) Thanks again for posting!! You gave me some really good ideas!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s just wondeful, Hannah!
      I’m glad I could give you ideas to use as a springboard – that’s what hair tutorials are for!
      And you’re very welcome! I’m glad I could help! 😀 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

