“The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” The Chronicles of Narnia ~ Movie Review

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, the 2005-2006 version (probably by far the most well-known), is the movie on review today.

Harry-Gregson-Williams-The-Chronicles-of-Narnia-The-Lion-the-Witch-and-the-Wardrobe-Soundtrack-from-the-Motion-Picture

I’m a huge fan of the series of books written by C. S. Lewis – the Chronicles of Narnia. So I was excited about a movie made from the book, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe – except for a few reasons. Here they are.

1. Story

pevensie

I was really, really worried that the filmmakers would ruin the story from the book. It seems difficult to find a good representation of any book when it’s turned into a movie.

 

2. Portrayal of Scenes

5766.jpg

It’s one thing to imagine the White Witch, Peter killing Maugrim, and the battle between Peter and the Witch, as well as a million other scenes. But watching them is another issue. Seeing it is so much more “real” than just imagining them.

Those were my two biggest worries about this movie, and now I’ll go through and answer those problems along with the rest of the review!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. Story

toast-in-narnia

Amazingly, they stuck pretty close to the book. There were a few added things, but they were so well done, that I won’t complain. It was really good. (Which was surprising.)

 

2. Portrayal of Scenes

4-pevensies-cropped.png

There are battle scenes, which means it could be really gruesome, but they did a fantastic job at not going crazy. Yes, you see a lot of things being wounded or killed (mostly not people, but creatures), but it wasn’t done in a horrific or gory way at all. It probably would be pretty scary for a young child, though.

Also, when Mr. Tumnus is trying to kidnap Lucy, that scene could be a little scary, because he’s trying to put Lucy in a trance. It wasn’t frightening or mesmerizing for me, but just so you know, you see shapes and animals in the fireplace.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pros:

lucy-pevensie-3-cropped

The music – I absolutely cannot say enough! Wow, wow, wow! It was amazing! Harry Gregson-Williams is very talented, and he did a fantastic job, especially during the final battle scene. It was just spectacular! I had the chills while I was listening to that scene, it was so good! (As a matter of fact, I’m listening to it as I write!)

The acting – it was so perfectly done, I had a hard time remembering that these were actors. They seemed so real! My favorite actress was Georgine Henley who played Lucy, but all of the actors were outstanding!

The visual effects – they are just blow-your-mind good! In fact, I sometimes had a hard time figuring out if they actually did a certain thing *cough, cough* (“whoosh”), or if it was just CGI. I couldn’t believe it!

 

Cons:

White-witch-and-the-chronicles-of-narnia-the-lion-the-witch-and-the-wardrobe-gallery

A few strange and (extremely) ugly creatures on the Witch’s side (nicknamed by my brother, “The Witch’s Uglies”), might be really creepy for kids, so be warned. They aren’t in it a whole lot, which was good; just know that they’re there.

I would not recommend this for young children, despite them being the targeted audience. It’s really made more for teens and young adults, in my mind, anyway. There are plenty of scenes that kids could watch, but overall, they’d miss most of story, so you should probably skip it until they’re older.  I wouldn’t put an age on it (“only watch it once you turn 13”) because every person is different. If you’re scared easily, then definitely you’ll want to wait.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For your information, this movie was rated PG, and I would definitely agree.

And, my brother did this post on his blog about this movie that you really need to read!

Over all, I really, really, liked, no, enjoyed this movie (“liked” isn’t a strong enough word), and I would highly recommend you watch it!

♥Amara

And by the way,

The four Pevensies say,

They all hope that you

wonderfulday3.jpg

Note: The picture(s) I am not selling, making a profit from, or benefiting from these in any way, shape, or form. They are for the sole purpose of enjoyment for the readers. All copyrights remain with the respective owner(s).

4 thoughts on ““The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” The Chronicles of Narnia ~ Movie Review

  1. Yes! I just saw this movie recently, and it was WONDERFUL!!!
    Prince Caspian was great too, but this one was better =D
    Great review! Surprisingly, this movie actually didn’t scare me at all. And I at least used to be very sensitive to this sort of thing. I guess I’ve gotten a lot better! =D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cool!
      It is awesome, isn’t it? 😀
      How was Prince Caspian according to the book? I heard they did a pretty bad job of following the book, but I’d be interested in what you thought!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

